The inaugural NIBA Claims Broker of the Year Award recognises excellence in claims management and is specially designed to recognise those members working in a brokerage who consistently demonstrate outstanding claims performance.

The member who will be named the 2023 NIBA Claims Broker of the Year Award winner will showcase excellence in claims and exemplify the highest standards of professionalism.




How to enter 

You can apply for the 2023 NIBA Claims Broker  Award by submitting either a maximum 1000-word written enter or a video up to two minutes in length that meets the criteria provided below to

  • Claims advocacy in action
  • Technical competence in insurance as applied to claims
  • Strength of client and underwriter relationships
  • Improvement in claims process and practice, leading to better client outcomes.

Any NIBA member who spends at least 75% of their time working in a claims-specific role can enter this award. You must be a NIBA Member working in a brokerage. You can nominate yourself or another NIBA Member. 

Award offering 

The winner of the 2023 NIBA Claims Broker of the Year Award receives an all-inclusive ticket to the 2023 NIBA Convention, return economy domestic flights from your home state and three nights’ accommodation.

Key dates and judging
Entries open                Tuesday 1 August 2023 
Entries close Wednesday 30 August 2023 
Judging   Tuesday 12 September 2023 
Winner advisedFriday 15 September 2023
Winner announcedTuesday 10 October 2023 at the NIBA Convention 

The judges will assess the applications based on the answers provided to the above criteria.

Terms and conditions 

Entries to the award may be used for further NIBA promotional activities including the NIBA Insurance Adviser magazine, Broker Buzz and NIBA’s LinkedIn channel. Please see the terms and conditions for full details.  


Claims Broker of the Year award winner

Charmaine Field