Young Professional Broker of the Year Award / Warren Tickle Memorial Award

Sponsored by: Vero

Each year NIBA celebrates the achievement and contribution of an outstanding member through the Young Professional Broker of the Year Award at regional level and the Warren Tickle Memorial Award at national level. In association with Vero, the award represents the pinnacle of achievement for the nation's young broker community.

The Warren Tickle Memorial Award goes to a young insurance broker below the age of 35 who exhibits an outstanding level of professionalism and integrity. This award began in 1990 in honour of Warren Tickle, a former Insurance Commissioner and insurance lecturer. He was the Commissioner responsible for the implementation of the Insurance (Agents & Brokers) Act 1984. Warren's early insurance career was at Sun Alliance and it is the present day company Vero that sponsors the award.

The winner of the Warren Tickle Memorial Award is selected from 5 finalists who are chosen as the Young Professional Broker of the Year in their region: NSW/ACT; VIC/TAS; SA/NT; WA and QLD. The state winners attend a two-day personal development workshop in Sydney and attend the annual NIBA Convention where the national winner is announced. All costs for attendance are met by the sponsor including airfares, registration and accommodation.

Entries are assessed by the state/territory judging panel throughout March and April and finalists are announced at regional events in May and July. All state/territory finalists are eligible for the Warren Tickle Memorial Award.

The winner of the Warren Tickle Memorial Award receives a tailored personal and business development experience to the approximate value of $10,000. Previous winners' prize has included a trip to London to experience the international broking market.


Nominees must meet the following conditions:

  • Must be an individual member of NIBA and hold the designation of Associate or QPIB/QFSR.
  • Must hold a full Diploma of Insurance Broking or other Tertiary Qualifications. 
  • Must have spent a minimum of 3 out of the last 5 years broking in Australia.
  • Must be under 35 years of age as at 31 December in the year they are entering.
  • Individuals may only be nominated once. The number of nominations received per nominee bears no weight in their selection.
  • Entrants must be available to travel to Sydney for the two day personal development workshop and the national judging. They should also be available to attend the 2020 NIBA Convention in Melbourne from 26-27 October. Airfares and accommodation costs are met by the sponsor.
  • Nominees are only eligible for the travel component of the prize if they intend to continue working within the broking industry for the 12 months from the date they are presented with the award.


 Nominees will be judged on the following criteria, based on their past achievements, but more specifically on their achievements in the year immediately prior to receiving the award:

1. Being an inspirational role model for the broking community:

  • Demonstrate professionalism and integrity
  • Commitment to his/her personal development
  • Contributions towards the team in which he/she works
  • Commitment to the development and promotion of the insurance broking profession

2. Demonstrated excellence in broking practice:

  • Technical competence in insurance
  • Strength of client and underwriter relationships
  • Quality of Quotation Slips / Renewal Information
  • Underwriting submissions - claims history
  • Policy wording / endorsements

3. Significant contribution to the broking community:

  • How the community has benefited as a whole from the nominee’s communal and volunteer activities

How to nominate

1.  Who can nominate:

  • Anyone in the insurance industry can nominate a young broker. This is your opportunity to recognise and reward someone who makes you proud to be working in the insurance broking industry and who you believe makes our industry a better place to work.
  • Anonymous and self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Previous winners will not be eligible for the award, but past entrants to the award are able to re-enter.
  • Individuals can be nominated in only one state or territory, for example a person who has recently moved interstate will be eligible for consideration in only one location. Selection panels may choose to contact the nominee for them to determine which jurisdiction is most appropriate.

2.  Nomination process:

  • Nominator to complete Nomination Form online here or download a printable Nomination Form here.
  • ​Nominations close: 29 February 2020
  • Complete and sign Nomination Form, providing 5 reasons why you consider the nominee to be worthy of winning the Award.
  • Send your Nomination Form to:
    NIBA Awards - NIBA
    Level 11, 20 Berry Street
    North Sydney 2060
    Ph: (02) 9459 4316 Fax: (02) 9964 9332
  • NIBA will contact each nominee by email and advise that they have been nominated for the award. If the nominee chooses to participate in the process, they will need to send in the following information:
    • Current CV including copies of their qualifications
    • 2 x client references
    • 2 x underwriter references
    • Personal statement (max 500 words) outlining notable achievements and how they feel they meet the award criteria
  • Upon receipt of these documents, the nominations will be reviewed by NIBA and nominees will be advised if they are a finalist in their state.
  • Finalists will be required to attend an interview with the state selection committee and will also receive a complimentary ticket to their state event in May or July.
  • State winners will be required to attend a national selection interview in Sydney and the annual NIBA Convention, where the overall winner is announced.
  • All costs for attendance are met by the sponsor including airfare, registration and accommodation.
  • Submissions should be emailed to All documentation submitted with the nomination will be retained by NIBA.
  • Queries should be directed to Fiorenza Zito  Email: