Recap: NSW/ACT Gala Lunch 2023

On Wednesday 12 July, the much-anticipated 2023 NSW/ACT Gala Lunch took place at The Fullerton Hotel to a packed audience. The event provided an opportunity for attendees to network with each other and for the NSW and ACT broking community to come together and celebrate the achievements of the past year.

The event opened with speeches from NIBA CEO Philip Kewin and NIBA President Gary Okely before proceeding to the keenly awaited announcement of the NSW/ACT Young Broker of the Year and Broker of the Year awards. The QBE-sponsored 2023 NSW/ACT Broker of the Year was awarded to Barry Sonter from Finsura and the Vero-sponsored 2023 NSW/ACT Young Broker of the Year award was won by Joel Morrell from Network Insurance Group.

NIBA CEO Philip Kewin congratulated Barry and Joel, the NSW/ACT winners, adding: “I would like to congratulate Barry and Joel for their win, and wish them all the best as they progress to the national awards in October.”

“Congratulations to all the finalists, who should be proud of their commitment, passion and dedication towards the broking profession. Every year, these awards give us an opportunity to recognise standout talent who live by and embody the values of professionalism that make our industry proud.”

In congratulating Joel, Yusuf Alexander, Vero's State Distribution Manager NSW/ACT, said: “In addition to being a true advocate for his clients, Joel has shown a strong commitment to the professional development and personal well-being of his team.”

In congratulating Barry, Elliot Hill, Managing Director – Business, QBE Australia Pacific said: “On behalf of QBE, I’d like to extend my congratulations to Barry as this year’s NSW/ACT Broker of the Year award winner. He has demonstrated excellent customer service and expertise, and the resulting positive impact on his local community is truly significant.”

Barry and Joel will now go on to compete in the national awards. The national QBE-sponsored Broker of the Year award and Vero-sponsored Young Broker of the Year award will be chosen from five region winners and announced in October at the NIBA Convention.

Thank you to all our valued sponsors, in particular our platinum and gold sponsors: Allianz, CHU and CGU.


Gary Okely

Phil Kewin

Gary and Jenny




Nick Cook with other VIPs


wide shot room

Tim Wedlock and other VIPs

wide shot 2


BOTY finalists 1

BOTY finalists 2

BOTY finalists 3


YBOTY finalists 1

YBOTY finalists 2

YBOTY finalists 3


YBOTY winner award

BOTY award winner

YBOTY media wall


BOTY winner media wall

BOTY winner solo

YBOTY winner solo